MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM MONDAY – SEPTEMBER 27, 2010 – 9:00 A.M.

- A. Date: September 27, 2010
- B. Call to Order: President Swartz called the meeting to order at 9:20 a.m.
- C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer
- D. Roll Call: Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President William E. Emery, Vice President Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Assistant Secretary Eddy Edwards, Treasurer (left 1:05 – 1:33 p.m.) Jerry Lee Curtis (arrived at 11:25 a.m.) Fred Dakota Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr. (left at 12:00 p.m.) Elizabeth D. Mayo (left at 3:45 p.m.) Toni J. Minton Isabelle Helene Welsh (arrived at 9:53 a.m.)

Absent: Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.

- E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.
- F. Approval of Agenda: September 27, 2010

MOTION MADE BY FRED DAKOTA TO APPROVE THE AGENDA. SUPPORTED BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. EIGHT IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Eddy Edwards, Fred Dakota, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo, Toni J. Minton), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Jerry Lee Curtis, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Isabelle H. Welsh), MOTION CARRIED.

G. Closed Session:

1. Budget Reviews

MOTION MADE BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:21 A.M. AND TO ALLOW KBIC MEMBERS TO BE PRESENT. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. EIGHT IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Eddy Edwards, Fred Dakota, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo, Toni J. Minton), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Jerry Lee Curtis, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Isabelle H. Welsh), MOTION CARRIED.

Isabelle Welsh arrived at 9:53 a.m.

Break: 10:45 – 11:09 a.m.

Jerry Lee Curtis arrived at 11:25 a.m.

Lunch: 12:00 – 1:05 p.m.

Gary Loonsfoot, Sr. left at 12:00 p.m.

Eddy Edwards returned from lunch at 1:33 p.m.

Break: 2:28 – 2:40 p.m.

Elizabeth Mayo left at 3:45 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY FRED DAKOTA TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 4:23 P.M. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. SEVEN IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Toni J. Minton, Isabelle H. Welsh), ONE OPPOSED (Susan J. LaFernier), ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), MOTION CARRIED.

Jason Ayres - Resolution KB-1777-2010 American Reinvestment and Recovery Act (ARRA) Cooperative Agreement with the Baraga County Road Commission and BIA for the Pequaming Road for FY2011 -

MOTION MADE BY WILLIAM E. EMERY TO APPROVE RESOLUTION KB-1777-2010 ARRA COOPERATIVE AGREEMENT. SUPPORTED BY JERRY LEE CURTIS. SEVEN IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Toni J. Minton, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ONE ABSTAINING (Susan J. LaFernier), THREE ABSENT (Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), MOTION CARRIED. I. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY WILLIAM E. EMERY TO ADJOURN AT 4:31 P.M. SUPPORTED BY FRED DAKOTA. SIX IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Toni J. Minton, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FIVE ABSENT (Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Eddy Edwards, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), MOTION CARRIED.

(Elizabeth Matthews and Eddy Edwards are out of the room)

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Minton Administrative Specialist