MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY REGULAR TRIBAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM SATURDAY – SEPTEMBER 3, 2011 – 9:00 A.M.

- A. Date: September 3, 2011
- B. Call to Order: President Swartz called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.
- C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer
- D. Roll Call: Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President William E. Emery, Vice President Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary Eddy Edwards, Treasurer Jerry Lee Curtis Fred Dakota Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr. Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews Elizabeth D. Mayo Isabelle Helene Welsh
- E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.
- F. Approval of Agenda: September 3, 2011

Addition: Old Business- 1. President Swartz – LVD Wild Rice Camp

MOTION MADE BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. TO APPROVE THE AGENDA WITH THE ADDITION. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. ALL IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

- G. For Your Information:
 - 1. A "Thank you" from Dylan J. Friisvall
 - 2. A "Thank you" from MTU Parade of Nations
 - 3. A "Thank you" from the Negaunee Township Community Center Board
 - 4. A "Thank you" from the Pine Mountain Music Festival (clothes line donation)
 - 5. A "Thank you" from the Wisconsin Historical Foundation Madeline Island Anishinaabeg September Gathering (for the food donation)
 - 6. A "Thank you" from Big Brothers Big Sisters Program
 - 7. Baraga Casino Financial Report July 31, 2011
 - 8. KBIC On-Reservation Metallic Mineral Exploration Sites A federal storm water discharge permit is required for metallic mineral exploration activities on federal land and on Indian Reservations.
- H. President's Report/August 2011 Verbal Report

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO APPROVE THE AUGUST 2011 PRESIDENT'S REPORT. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS. ALL IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

I. Secretary's Report/August 2011 – available for your review

MOTION MADE BY TONI J. MINTON TO APPROVE THE AUGUST 2011 SECRETARY'S REPORT. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS. ALL IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

J. Treasurer's Report/August 2011 – Verbal Report

MOTION MADE BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. TO APPROVE THE AUGUST 2011 TREASURER'S REPORT. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. TEN IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ONE ABSENT (Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

(Fred Dakota is out of the room)

K. CEO's Report/August 2011 - available for your review [also available on ojibwa.com]

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO APPROVE THE AUGUST 2011 CEO'S REPORT. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS. ALL IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

L. Department Head Reports – July 2011

MOTION MADE BY SUSAN J. LAFERNIER TO APPROVE THE JULY 2011 DEPARTMENT HEAD REPORTS. SUPPORTED BY TONI J. MINTON. NINE IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), TWO OPPOSED (Eddy Edwards, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.), ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

M. Recognize Scheduled Delegation/Individuals:

1. Debra Williamson/Monica Kohn, President, Turtle Island Cultural Services – Announcement of ANA Language Grant

Debra, along with two other women, started a non-profit Indian Corporation incorporated under the State of Michigan for the Turtle Island Cultural Services, founded in 2009.

The Corporation was awarded an ANA Language Grant for the Ojibwemowin Wadiswan. (Ojibwe Language Nest)

The Board of Directors consists of Monica Kohn, President, Sandy Pittsley, Shirley McKasy, Kathy Lanczy, and Veronica Adams. Christine Awonohopay will coordinate the program.

Debra would like to partner with KBIC's current Educational Programs.

Her grant proposal states they will have 10 to 12 children receive over 1500 hours of language immersion which will expand their fluency use to a level two by the end of the three year grant funding period.

- N. Old Business:
 - 1. President Swartz LVD Wild Rice Camp Additional Funding for 10 Households

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO APPROVE UP TO THIRTY HOUSEHOLDS (TOTAL) FOR THE LVD WILD RICE CAMP. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. ALL IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

O. New Business:

1. Eddy Edwards, Treasurer – Donations August 2011

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO APPROVE THE FOLLOWING DONATIONS: \$250.00 TO THE L'ANSE VARSITY FOOTBALL PLAYERS, \$2,000.00 TO THE NATIONAL INDIAN HEALTH BOARD, \$1,000.00 TO THE NATIONAL INDIAN EDUCATION ASSOCIATION, AND \$1,000.00 TO U.S. SENATOR STABENOW CAMPAIGN. SUPPORTED BY SUSAN J. LAFERNIER. ALL IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

P. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY EDDY EDWARDS TO ADJOURN AT 10:30 A.M. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO. ALL IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Eddy Edwards, Jerry Lee Curtis, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Minton Administrative Specialist