MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING TRIBAL CENTER CONFERENCE ROOM WEDNESDAY – NOVEMBER 21, 2007 – 1:00 P.M.

A.	Date:	November 21, 2007
B.	Call to Order:	President LaFernier called the meeting to order at 1:26 p.m.
C.	Invocation:	Lord's Prayer and prayers for all who are ill and have lost loved ones and a wish for everyone to have a safe and Happy Thanksgiving
D.	Roll Call:	 Present: Susan J. LaFernier, President Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Vice-President Toni J. Minton, Secretary (left 1:55 – 3:04 p.m.) Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Assistant Secretary (left at 1:55 p.m.) Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer Doreen G. Blaker Jerry Lee Curtis William E. Emery Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. (left at 1:55 p.m.) Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews Elizabeth D. Mayo (left at 1:55 p.m.)

- E. Declaration of Quorum: President LaFernier declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.
- F. Approval of Agenda: November 21, 2007

Addition:

Closed Session-

2. Susan LaFernier

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO APPROVE THE AGENDA WITH THE ADDITION. SUPPORTED BY WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR. TEN IN FAVOR (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Jennifer Misegan, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, William E. Emery, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED – 0, ABSTAINING – 0, ONE ABSENT (Larry J. Denomie III), MOTION CARRIED.

G. Closed Session:

- 1. 1:00 p.m. Carrie Ashbrook, Election Candidate Appeal Election Committee
- 2. Susan LaFernier, President

MOTION MADE BY WILLIAM E. EMERY TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 1:30 P.M. SUPPORTED BY WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR. NINE IN FAVOR (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Jennifer Misegan, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, William E. Emery, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), ONE OPPOSED (Elizabeth D. Mayo), ABSTAINING – 0, ONE ABSENT (Larry J. Denomie III), MOTION CARRIED.

Elizabeth Mayo/Mike LaFernier/Toni Minton/Gary Loonsfoot left the meeting at 1:55 p.m. because they are candidates in the election.

MOTION MADE BY WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR. TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 3:03 P.M. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. SIX IN FAVOR (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Jennifer Misegan, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, William E. Emery, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED – 0, ABSTAINING – 0, FIVE ABSENT (Toni J. Minton, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Larry J. Denomie III, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), MOTION CARRIED.

(Toni Minton out of room)

MOTION MADE BY WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR. TO DENY CARRIE ASHBROOK'S APPEAL/REQUEST TO PLACE HER NAME AS A CANDIDATE IN THE L'ANSE DISTRICT FOR THE 2007 ANNUAL ELECTION. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. SIX IN FAVOR (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Jennifer Misegan, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, William E. Emery, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED – 0, ONE ABSTAINING (Toni J. Minton), FOUR ABSENT (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Larry J. Denomie III, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), MOTION CARRIED.

H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO ADJOURN AT 3:05 P.M. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Jennifer Misegan, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, William E. Emery, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED – 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Larry J. Denomie III, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Minton Recording Secretary