## MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING TRIBAL CENTER CONFERENCE ROOM FRIDAY – JUNE 13, 2008 – 9:00 A.M.

- A. Date: June 13, 2008
- B. Call to Order: Vice-President LaFernier called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m.
- C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer
- D. Roll Call: Present: Susan J. LaFernier, Vice-President Toni J. Minton, Secretary William E. Emery, Assistant Secretary Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer Larry J. Denomie III, CEO Doreen G. Blaker Jerry Lee Curtis Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. (arrived at 9:18 a.m., left 9:50 – 10:38 a.m., left at 12:15 p.m.) Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews Elizabeth D. Mayo (arrived at 1:15 p.m.)

Absent: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President Fred Dakota

- E. Declaration of Quorum: Vice-President LaFernier declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.
- F. Approval of Agenda: June 13, 2008

Addition:Closed Session-6. Jennifer Misegan

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO APPROVE THE AGENDA WITH THE ADDITION. SUPPORTED BY JERRY LEE CURTIS. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING – 0, FOUR ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo, Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

## G. For Your Information:

- 1. A copy of the Gaming Commission Meeting Minutes for 05/06/08, 05/13/08 and 05/20/08
- 2. A copy of a letter from Sandra Pittsley, Ojibwa Seniors President Meeting Request with Lynn Ketola regarding the Title VII Program on June 18<sup>th</sup>.
- H. Old Business:
  - 1. Larry Denomie, CEO Creation of a Tribal Energy Committee Char Beesley/Gregg Nominelli

A Committee will be formed for strategic energy planning. Consumption is increasing and the Tribe needs to consider renewable resources such as wind, solar, hydropower or biomass. Some alternative energies are wind turbines or pellet plants. The Committee will consist of seven people from various departments/committees with knowledge and commitment in this area and will develop a plan with Community involvement and incorporate goals and objectives for the Tribe. The Natural Resource Department has EPA funds available for training.

## Mike LaFernier arrived at 9:18 a.m.

MOTION MADE BY WILLIAM E. EMERY TO APPROVE THE FORMATION OF A TRIBAL ENERGY COMMITTEE. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING – 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Elizabeth D. Mayo, Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

- I. New Business:
  - 1. Susan LaFernier Ojibwa Senior Citizens' MIEA Delegates

MOTION MADE BY DOREEN G. BLAKER TO APPROVE JANICE SHALIFOE AND MIKE DUSCHENE AS TWO-YEAR MIEA DELEGATES AND ROGER DUSCHENE AS AN ALTERNATE. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING – 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Elizabeth D. Mayo, Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

- J. Closed Session:
  - 1. Youth Programs and Facility Coordinator Interviews (5): Pauline Knapp-Spruce present. One declined their interview because they accepted another job.
  - 2. Grievance Hearing Case #004-08 **1:00 p.m.**
  - 3. Carole LaPointe, Health Director WIC Dietician Contract

- 4. Larry Denomie III, CEO
- 5. Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:35 A.M. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING – 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Elizabeth D. Mayo, Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

Mike LaFernier left 9:50 – 10:38 a.m.

Break: 10:55 a.m. – 1:10 p.m. (Lunch)

\*\*11:00 a.m. – Community Capacity Development Office Site Visit Luncheon – Chippewa Conference Room\*\*

Mika LaFernier left at 12:15 p.m.

Elizabeth Mayo arrived at 1:15 p.m.

Break: 2:15 – 2:28 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY TONI J. MINTON TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 4:23 P.M. SUPPORTED BY LARRY J. DENOMIE III. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING – 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

Nutrition Services at the Hannahville WIC Program site July 1, 2008 - June 20, 2009 -

MOTION MADE BY DOREEN G. BLAKER TO APPROVE THE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE HANNAHVILLE INDIAN COMMUNITY AND THE KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FOR THE WIC PROGRAM. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS. SEVEN IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ONE ABSTAINING (Toni J. Minton), THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED. MOTION MADE BY JERRY LEE CURTIS TO OFFER THE YOUTH PROGRAMS AND FACILITY COORDINATOR POSITION TO TYLER LARSON EFFECTIVE JUNE 13, 2008. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO. FIVE IN FAVOR (William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Jerry Lee Curtis, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo), ONE OPPOSED (Toni J. Minton), TWO ABSTAINING (Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker), THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO TABLE GRIEVANCE HEARING #004-08 UNTIL THE JUNE 26, 2008 MEETING. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), ONE OPPOSED (Elizabeth D. Mayo), ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

K. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO ADJOURN AT 4:27 P.M. SUPPORTED BY JERRY LEE CURTIS. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Larry J. Denomie III, Doreen G. Blaker, Jerry Lee Curtis, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING – 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Fred Dakota), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Minton Recording Secretary