KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY

2015 TRIBAL COUNCIL

WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR., President JENNIFER MISEGAN, Vice President TONI J. MINTON, Secretary SUSAN J. LAFERNLER, Assistant Secretary DOREEN G. BLAKER, Treasurer Keweenaw Bay Tribal Center 16429 Beartown Road Baraga, Michigan 49908 Phone (906) 353-6623 Fax (906) 353-7540

ROBERT "R.D." CURTIS, JR. EDDY EDWARDS RANDALL R. HAATAJA MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. DON MESSER, JR. DONALD SHALIFOE, SR.

1-7-16

MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING TRIBAL CENTER CONFERENCE ROOM MONDAY – DECEMBER 28, 2015 – 9:00 A.M.

A.	Date:	December 28, 2015
B.	Call to Order:	President Swartz called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.
C.	Invocation:	Ojibwa Prayer by Donald Shalifoe, Sr./Lord's Prayer
D.	Roll Call:	Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President Jennifer Misegan, Vice President Toni J. Minton, Secretary Susan J. LaFernier, Assistant Secretary Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer Randall R. Haataja Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. (arrived at 9:09 a.m.) Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr. Don Messer, Jr. Donald Shalifoe, Sr.
		Absent: Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.

Eddy Edwards

E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: December 28, 2015

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO APPROVE THE AGENDA. SUPPORTED BY DOREEN G. BLAKER. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Randall R. Haataja, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.), MOTION CARRIED.

G. Closed Session:

- 1. President Swartz Conference Call (Danielle Webb)
- 2. Larry Denomie III, CEO Employee Issues

MOTION MADE BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:07 A.M. SUPPORTED BY RANDALL R. HAATAJA. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Randall R. Haataja, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.), MOTION CARRIED.

Michael LaFernier, Sr. arrived at 9:09 a.m.

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 10:25 A.M. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. NINE IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards), MOTION CARRIED.

Employee Sick Leave Incentive Policy Exception

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO MAKE AN EXCEPTION TO THE PERSONNEL POLICY FOR THE OJIBWA BUILDING SUPPLY MANAGER THAT HE RECEIVE 216 HOURS FOR SICK LEAVE INCENTIVE PAY FOR THIS YEAR AND 208 EVERY YEAR AFTER AS LONG AS HE IS ELIGIBLE IN ORDER TO GET THE BALANCE DOWN TO A MANAGEABLE LEVEL. CO-SUPPORTED BY TONI J. MINTON AND GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. NINE IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards), MOTION CARRIED.

H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO ADJOURN AT 10:30 A.M. SUPPORTED BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. NINE IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

eggy Loonsfoot

Peggy Loonsfoot Administrative Specialist

AGENDA KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING TRIBAL CENTER CONFERENCE ROOM MONDAY – DECEMBER 28, 2015 – 9:00 A.M.

- A. Date: December 28, 2015
- B. Call to Order:
- C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer
- D. Roll Call:

- ___Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President
- _____Jennifer Misegan, Vice President
- Toni J. Minton, Secretary
- Susan J. LaFernier, Assistant Secretary
- Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer
- ___Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.
- ___Eddy Edwards
- ____Randall R. Haataja
- ____Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.
- Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr.
- ____Don Messer, Jr.
- ____Donald Shalifoe, Sr.
- E. Declaration of Quorum:
- F. Approval of Agenda: December 28, 2015
- G. Closed Session:
 - 1. President Swartz Conference Call
 - 2. Larry Denomie III, CEO Employee Issues
- H. Adjournment: