KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY

2015 TRIBAL COUNCIL

WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR., President JENNIFER MISEGAN, Vice President TONI J. MINTON, Secretary SUSAN J. LAFERNIER, Assistant Secretary DOREEN G. BLAKER, Treasurer Keweenaw Bay Tribal Center 16429 Beartown Road Baraga, Michigan 49908 Phone (906) 353-6623 Fax (906) 353-7540

ROBERT "R.D." CURTIS, JR. EDDY EDWARDS RANDALL R. HAATAJA MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. DON MESSER, JR. DONALD SHALIFOE, SR.

10-1.5-15

MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM WEDNESDAY – SEPTEMBER 9, 2015 – 9:00 A.M.

A.	Date:	September 9, 2015
B.	Call to Order:	President Swartz called the meeting to order at 9:08 a.m.
C.	Invocation:	Lord's Prayer and prayers for Community Members
D.	Roll Call:	Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President Jennifer Misegan, Vice President (left at 4:25 p.m.) Toni J. Minton, Secretary (left at 12:02 p.m.) Susan J. LaFernier, Assistant Secretary Randall R. Haataja Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr. (left at 4:11 p.m.) Don Messer, Jr. (left 10:49 – 11:29 a.m., left 1:10 – 1:29 p.m.) Donald Shalifoe, Sr. (arrived at 9:18 a.m., left at 2:23 p.m.) Absent: Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. Eddy Edwards

E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: September 9, 2015

FYI-

Additions:

- 1. President Swartz Denied a Tribal Member Request to have the President Complete a CAP Application and Deposit Funds
- 2. President Swartz Denied a Tribal Member Request to Loan Against their Christmas Check

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO APPROVE THE AGENDA WITH THE ADDITIONS. SUPPORTED BY TONI J. MINTON. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards, Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), MOTION CARRIED.

- G. For Your Information:
 - 1. President Swartz He denied a Tribal Member Request to have the President complete a CAP application and deposit into their bank account. He referred them to the CAP Office.
 - 2. President Swartz He denied a Tribal Member Request for a loan against their Christmas Check. He referred them to the CAP Office.
- H. Closed Session:
 - 1. Budget Reviews [Open to KBIC Members] Sarah Maki, Assistant CEO, Larry Denomie III, CEO, Francis LaPointe, CFO present
 - a) Thomas Chosa, I.T.
 - b) Gerald Jondreau, Forestry
 - c) Carole LaPointe/Kathy Mayo, DHHS
 - d) Darren Webb, Commodity Foods
 - e) Francis "Hosh" LaPointe, IDC
 - f) Jean Jokinen, Grants
 - g) Dale Dakota/Duane Misegan, Police
 - h) George Decota, Fire
 - i) Judy Heath, Social Services
 - j) Debra Parrish, KBOCC
 - k) Terri Denomie (not present)/Sarah Maki, Head Start
 - 1) Michael Schrader/Don Messer, Jr./Sharon Misegan, Ojibwa Casino I & II
 - m) Patricia Koski, Pines Convenience Center
 - n) Ed Janisse, Radio Stations

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:13 A.M. OPEN TO KBIC MEMBERS. SUPPORTED BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards, Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), MOTION CARRIED.

Donald Shalifoe, Sr. arrived at 9:18 a.m.

Break 10:49 - 11:03 a.m.

Don Messer, Jr. left 10:49 – 11:29 a.m.

Lunch 12:02 - 1:10 p.m. (Toni Minton left)

Gary Loonsfoot, Sr. returned from lunch at 1:13 p.m.

Don Messer, Jr. returned from lunch at 1:29 p.m.

Break - 2:23 - 2:40 p.m. (Donald Shalifoe, Sr. left)

Don Messer, Jr. returned from break at 2:50 p.m.

President Swartz and Gary Loonsfoot, Sr. left 2:51 - 3:03 p.m.

Don Messer, Jr. left 4:06 – 4:13 p.m.

Gary Loonsfoot, Sr. left at 4:11 p.m.

Jennifer Misegan left at 4:25 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY DON MESSER, JR. TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 4:44 P.M. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. FOUR IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING -0, SEVEN ABSENT (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), MOTION CARRIED.

I. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY DON MESSER, JR. TO ADJOURN AT 4:45 P.M. SUPPORTED BY RANDALL R. HAATAJA. FOUR IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, SEVEN ABSENT (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

ggy Loonsfoot

Peggy Loonsfoot Administrative Specialist

AGENDA KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM WEDNESDAY – SEPTEMBER 9, 2015 – 9:00 A.M.

- A. Date: September 9, 2015
- B. Call to Order:
- C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer
- D. Roll Call:

Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President
Jennifer Misegan, Vice President
Toni J. Minton, Secretary
Susan J. LaFernier, Assistant Secretary
Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer
Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.
Eddy Edwards
Randall R. Haataja
Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.
Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr.
Don Messer, Jr.
Donald Shalifoe, Sr.

- E. Declaration of Quorum:
- F. Approval of Agenda: September 9, 2015
- G. Closed Session:
 - 1. Budget Reviews [Open to KBIC Members]
 - a) Thomas Chosa, I.T. 9:15 9:30 a.m.
 - b) Gerald Jondreau, Forestry 9:30 9:45 a.m.
 - c) Carole LaPointe/Kathy Mayo, Health Department 9:45 10:15 a.m.
 Break 10:15 10:30 a.m.
 - d) Darren Webb, Commodity Foods 10:30 10:45 a.m.
 - e) Francis "Hosh" LaPointe, IDC 10:45 11:00 a.m.
 - f) Jean Jokinen, Grants 11:00 11:15 a.m.
 - g) Dale Dakota/Duane Misegan, Police 11:15-11:30 a.m.
 - h) George Decota, Firefighters 11:30 11:45 a.m.
 - i) Judy Heath, Social Services 11:45 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lunch 12:00 1:00 p.m.
 - j) President Swartz, Government 1:00-1:30 p.m.
 - k) Debra Parrish, KBOCC 1:30-1:45 p.m.

- Terri Denomie, Head Start 1:45 2:00 p.m. Break – 2:00 – 2:15 p.m.
- m) Michael Schrader/Don Messer, Jr./Sharon Misegan, Baraga-Marquette Casinos 2:15 3:15 p.m.

.

- n) Ed Janisse, Radio Stations 3:15 3:30 p.m.
- o) Patricia Koski, Pines Convenience Center 3:30-3:45 p.m.

H. Adjournment: