# KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY

2015 TRIBAL COUNCIL

WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR., President JENNIFER MISEGAN, Vice President TONI J. MINTON, Secretary SUSAN J. LAFERNIER, Assistant Secretary DOREEN G. BLAKER, Treasurer Keweenaw Bay Tribal Center 16429 Beartown Road Baraga, Michigan 49908 Phone (906) 353-6623 Fax (906) 353-7540

ROBERT "R.D." CURTIS, JR. EDDY EDWARDS RANDALL R. HAATAJA MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. DON MESSER, JR. DONALD SHALIFOE, SR.

2-20-15

## MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM WEDNESDAY – FEBRUARY 4, 2015 – 9:00 A.M.

A.	Date:	February 4, 2015
B.	Call to Order:	President Swartz called the meeting to order at 9:11 a.m.
C.	Invocation:	Lord's Prayer
D.	Roll Call:	Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President Jennifer Misegan, Vice President Toni J. Minton, Secretary (arrived at 11:07 a.m.) Susan J. LaFernier, Assistant Secretary Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer (arrived at 1:04 p.m., left at 3:13 p.m.) Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. (left at 3:15 p.m.) Randall R. Haataja Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr. Don Messer, Jr. (left 9:55 – 10:16 a.m.) Donald Shalifoe, Sr. (left at 12:01 p.m.)

Absent: Eddy Edwards

E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: February 4, 2015

Addition:

New Business-

1. Jennifer Misegan, Vice President – Senior Tax Preparation

MOTION MADE BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. TO APPROVE THE AGENDA WITH THE ADDITION. SUPPORTED BY RANDALL R. HAATAJA. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Susan J. LaFernier, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Toni J. Minton, Doreen G. Blaker, Eddy Edwards), MOTION CARRIED.

## LAKE SUPERIOR BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS

"Home of the Midnight Two-Step Championship"

#### G. Closed Session:

- 1. Budget Reviews [Open to KBIC Members]
  - a) Dan MacNeil, Attorney's Office
  - b) Gerald Jondreau, Forestry
  - c) Carole LaPointe/Kathy Mayo, Health Department
  - d) Darren Webb, Commodity Foods
  - e) Francis LaPointe, IDC Jean Jokinen (not present), Grants [Reschedule to February 5, 2015]
  - f) William Seppanen, Police
  - g) George Decota, Firefighters
  - h) Judy Heath, Social Services
  - i) Debra Parrish, College
  - j) President Swartz, Government
  - k) Terri Denomie (not present)/President Swartz, Head Start
  - 1) Don Messer/Sharon Misegan, Casinos
  - m) Ed Janisse, Radio Stations Patricia Koski, Pines Convenience Center [Reschedule to February 5, 2015]

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:18 A.M. SUPPORTED BY JENNIFER MISEGAN. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Susan J. LaFernier, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr., Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Toni J. Minton, Doreen G. Blaker, Eddy Edwards), MOTION CARRIED.

Don Messer, Jr. left 9:55 – 10:16 a.m.

Break: 10:43 – 10:55 a.m.

Toni J. Minton arrived at 11:07 a.m.

Lunch: 12:00 – 1:05 p.m.

Donald Shalifoe, Sr. left at 12:01 p.m.

Doreen G. Blaker arrived at 1:04 p.m.

Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr. returned from lunch at 1:14 p.m.

Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. returned from lunch at 1:28 p.m.

Break: 1:57 – 2:08 p.m.

Break: 3:07 – 3:16 p.m.

Doreen G. Blaker left at 3:13 p.m.

Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. left at 3:15 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY DON MESSER, JR. TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 4:55 P.M. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards, Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), MOTION CARRIED.

H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO ADJOURN AT 4:56 P.M. SUPPORTED BY RANDALL R. HAATAJA. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Jennifer Misegan, Toni J. Minton, Susan J. LaFernier, Randall R. Haataja, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Eddy Edwards, Donald Shalifoe, Sr.), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

eggy Loonsfort

Peggy Loonsfoot Administrative Specialist

#### AGENDA KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM WEDNESDAY – FEBRUARY 4, 2015 – 9:00 A.M.

- A. Date: February 4, 2015
- B. Call to Order:
- C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer
- D. Roll Call:

Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President
Jennifer Misegan, Vice President
Toni J. Minton, Secretary
Susan J. LaFernier, Assistant Secretary
Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer
Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.
Eddy Edwards
Randall R. Haataja
Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.
Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr.
Don Messer, Jr.
Donald Shalifoe, Sr.

- E. Declaration of Quorum:
- F. Approval of Agenda: February 4, 2015
- G. Closed Session:
  - 1. Budget Reviews [Open to KBIC Members]
    - a) Dan MacNeil, Attorney's Office 9:15 9:30 a.m.
    - b) Gerald Jondreau, Forestry 9:30 9:45 a.m.
    - c) Carole LaPointe/Kathy Mayo, Health Department 9:45 10:15 a.m.
       Break 10:15 10:30 a.m.
    - d) Darren Webb, Commodity Foods 10:30 10:45 a.m.
    - e) Francis LaPointe, IDC 10:45 11:00 a.m.
    - f) Jean Jokinen, Grants 11:00 11:15 a.m.
    - g) William Seppanen, Police 11:15 11:30 a.m.
    - h) George Decota, Firefighters 11:30 11:45 a.m.
    - i) Judy Heath, Social Services 11:45 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lunch 12:00 1:00 p.m.
    - j) President Swartz, Government 1:00 1: 30 p.m.
    - k) Debra Parrish, College 1:30 1:45 p.m.

- Terri Denomie, Head Start 1:45 2:00 p.m. Break – 2:00 – 2:15 p.m.
- m) Don Messer/Sharon Misegan, Casinos 2:15 3:15 p.m.
- n) Ed Janisse, Radio Stations 3:15-3:30 p.m.
- o) Patricia Koski, Pines Convenience Center 3:30 3:45 p.m.

H. Adjournment: