MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING BIG BUCKS BINGO HALL TUESDAY – OCTOBER 1, 2019 – 9:00 A.M.

A. Date:	October 1, 2019		
B. Call to Order:	Vice President Loonsfoot called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m.		
C. Invocation:	Prayer by Gary Loonsfoot, Jr., Vice President		
D. Roll Call:	 Present: Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Vice President (left at 2:00 p.m.) Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. (left 11:52 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.) Dale F. Goodreau Randall R. Haataja (left at 3:45 p.m.) Kim Klopstein Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. Rodney Loonsfoot Elizabeth D. Mayo Absent: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary 		

- E. Declaration of Quorum: Vice President Loonsfoot declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.
- F. Approval of Agenda: October 1, 2019

Addition:	Closed Session-	1. Jeanne Hirzel, d) New Day, Halfway House, Outpatient
		Plans/Review

MOTION MADE BY ROBERT R.D. CURTIS, JR. TO APPROVE THE AGENDA WITH THE ADDITION. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO. NINE IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Rodney Loonsfoot, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Toni J. Minton), MOTION CARRIED.

G. Closed Session:

1. Budget Reviews – [Open to KBIC Members]

- a) Kim Klopstein, Community Needs Assistance Program Guidelines Review
- b) Larry Denomie III, Ojibwa Casinos General Manager Organizational Structure
- c) Kathy Mayo, DHHS
- d) Jeanne Hirzel, New Day, Halfway House, Outpatient Plans/Review
- e) Doreen Blaker, KBIC Housing Department
- f) Sarah Smith, CEO/Larry Denomie III, GM/Francis LaPointe, Jr., CFO Summary

MOTION MADE BY DOREEN G. BLAKER TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:10 A.M. AND OPEN TO KBIC MEMBERS. SUPPORTED BY ROBERT R.D. CURTIS, JR. NINE IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Rodney Loonsfoot, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Toni J. Minton), MOTION CARRIED.

Break: 10:55 – 11:09 a.m.

Lunch: 11:52 a.m. – 1:03 p.m.

Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. returned from lunch at 2:00 p.m.

Gary Loonsfoot, Jr. left at 2:00 p.m.

Secretary LaFernier is chairing

Break: 2:37 – 2:55 p.m.

Randall Haataja left at 3:45 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY RODNEY LOONSFOOT TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 3:54 P.M. SUPPORTED BY ROBERT R.D. CURTIS, JR. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Rodney Loonsfoot, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Randall R. Haataja), MOTION CARRIED.

H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO ADJOURN AT 3:56 P.M. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Rodney Loonsfoot, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Randall R. Haataja), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Loonsfoot Administrative Specialist