MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING **BIG BUCKS BINGO HALL** TUESDAY - SEPTEMBER 17, 2019 - 9:00 A.M.

A. Date: September 17, 2019

B. Call to Order: Vice President Loonsfoot called the meeting to order at 9:17 a.m.

C. Invocation: Prayer by Gary Loonsfoot, Jr., Vice President and prayers for Jon Marshall (I.T. Dept.)

D. Roll Call: Present: Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Vice President

Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary

Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary (arrived at 9:20 a.m.)

Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer

Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.

Dale F. Goodreau

Kim Klopstein (left 10:35 – 11:25 a.m.)

Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.

Elizabeth D. Mayo

Absent: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President

Randall R. Haataja Rodney Loonsfoot

E. Declaration of Quorum: Vice President Loonsfoot declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: September 17, 2019

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO APPROVE THE AGENDA. SUPPORTED BY KIM KLOPSTEIN. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Randall R. Haataja, Rodney Loonsfoot), MOTION CARRIED.

G. Closed Session:

- 1. Budget Reviews [Open to KBIC Members]
 - a) Evelyn Ravindran, Natural Resources
 - b) John Hebert, Youth Programs
 - c) Debra Picciano, TERO
 - d) President Swartz (not present)/Vice President Loonsfoot, General Government

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:19 A.M. AND OPEN TO KBIC MEMBERS. SUPPORTED BY KIM KLOPSTEIN. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Randall R. Haataja, Rodney Loonsfoot), MOTION CARRIED.

Toni Minton arrived at 9:20 a.m.

Break: 10:35 – 10:51 a.m. (Kim Klopstein left)

Kim Klopstein returned at 11:25 a.m.

Lunch: 11:58 a.m. – 1:10 p.m.

Break: 1:59 – 2:10 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 2:53 P.M. SUPPORTED BY DALE F. GOODREAU. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Randall R. Haataja, Rodney Loonsfoot), MOTION CARRIED.

H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO ADJOURN AT 2:54 P.M. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Randall R. Haataja, Rodney Loonsfoot), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Loonsfoot Administrative Specialist