## KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY

2013 TRIBAL COUNCIL

WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR., President ELIZABETH D. MAYO, Vice-President SUSAN J. LAFERNIER, Secretary TONI J. MINTON, Assistant Secretary JENNIFER MISEGAN, Treasurer Keweenaw Bay Tribal Center 16429 Beartown Road Baraga, Michigan 49908 Phone (906) 353-6623 Fax (906) 353-7540

ROBERT R.D. CURTIS, JR.
FRED DAKOTA
JEAN JOKINEN
MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR.
CAROLE L. LAPOINTE
ELIZABEHT "CHIZ" MATTHEWS
DON MESSER, JR.

MINUTES
KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY
SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING
OJIBWA CASINO CONFERENCE ROOM
MONDAY – DECEMBER 9, 2013 – 9:00 A.M.



A. Date: December 9, 2013

B. Call to Order: President Swartz called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m.

C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer

D. Roll Call: Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President

Elizabeth D. Mayo, Vice President Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary

Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary (arrived at 9:08 a.m.)

Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.

Fred Dakota Jean Jokinen

Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.

Carole L. LaPointe (arrived at 9:19 a.m., left 9:42 – 9:58 a.m.)

Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews (arrived at 10:07 a.m.)

Don Messer, Jr.

E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order

of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: December 9, 2013

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO APPROVE THE AGENDA. SUPPORTED BY FRED DAKOTA. NINE IN FAVOR (Elizabeth D. Mayo, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Jennifer Misegan, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Carole L. LaPointe, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), MOTION CARRIED.

G. Closed Session: (Open)

1. OHA Board of Commissioners - Eddy Edwards and Sally Snyder present

Present: RD Curtis, Chair, Gary Loonsfoot, Sr., Dominic Picciano, Janice Shalifoe

Absent: Roland Swartz

2. Community Development Corporation (CDC)

Present: Bruce LaPointe (since 2012), Bill Jondreau (since 2012), Dominic Picciano (since inception), Rodney Loonsfoot (since 2012), Ginny Ann Jermac (she request time to look over the questions first), RD Curtis (since 2012)

Absent: William Emery, Chair

MOTION MADE BY JENNIFER MISEGAN TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:09 A.M. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. FOUR IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Jennifer Misegan, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.), FIVE OPPOSED (Elizabeth D. Mayo, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Don Messer, Jr.), ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Carole L. LaPointe, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), MOTION DEFEATED.

Carole LaPointe arrived at 9:19 a.m.

Carole LaPointe left 9:42 - 9:58 a.m.

Elizabeth Mattbews arrived at 10:07 a.m.

There were approximately 32 questions raised from the audit to both boards.

The OHA and CDC Boards requested two days to review the questions and the Council consensus was to allow the request.

## H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY CAROLE L. LAPOINTE TO ADJOURN AT 10:26 A.M. SUPPORTED BY FRED DAKOTA. ALL IN FAVOR (Elizabeth D. Mayo, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Jennifer Misegan, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Carole L. LaPointe, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Loonsfoot

Administrative Specialist

ny Loonsfoot

## AGENDA KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO CONFERENCE ROOM MONDAY – DECEMBER 9, 2013 – 9:00 A.M.

A.	Date:	December 9, 2013
B.	Call to Order:	
C.	Invocation:	Lord's Prayer
D.	Roll Call:	Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President Elizabeth D. Mayo, Vice President Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. Fred Dakota Jean Jokinen Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. Carole L. LaPointe Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews Don Messer, Jr.
E.	Declaration of Quorum:	
F.	Approval of Agenda: December 9, 2013	
G.	Closed Session:  1. OHA Board of Commissioners 2. Community Development Corporation	

Н.

Adjournment: