MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING TRIBAL CENTER CONFERENCE ROOM FRIDAY – MARCH 20, 2009 – 1:00 P.M.

A. Date: March 20, 2009

B. Call to Order: President Swartz called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer

D. Roll Call: Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President

Susan J. LaFernier, Vice-President

Toni J. Minton, Secretary

William E. Emery, Assistant Secretary

Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer

Fred Dakota

Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. (arrived at 1:13 p.m.)

Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr. (left at 2:48 p.m.)

Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews

Elizabeth D. Mayo (arrived at 1:06 p.m.)

Absent: Jerry Lee Curtis

Isabelle Helene Welsh

E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order

of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: March 20, 2009

MOTION MADE BY WILLIAM E. EMERY TO APPROVE THE AGENDA. SUPPORTED BY GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR. SIX IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Fred Dakota, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FIVE ABSENT (Jennifer Misegan, Jerry Lee Curtis, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), MOTION CARRIED.

(Jennifer Misegan out of the room)

G. Closed Session:

1. Ojibwa Housing Authority – Present from OHA: Eddy Edwards, Brenda Brunk, Sharon Brunk, Robert Mayo, Dominic Picciano and Hosh LaPointe. Also present: John Baker.

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 1:05 P.M. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. FIVE IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), ONE OPPOSED (Fred Dakota), ABSTAINING - 0, FIVE ABSENT (Jennifer Misegan, Jerry Lee Curtis, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo, Isabelle H. Welsh), MOTION CARRIED.

(Jennifer Misegan out of the room)

Elizabeth Mayo arrived at 1:06 p.m.

Mike LaFernier, Sr. arrived at 1:13 p.m.

Break: 2:29 – 2:37 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY FRED DAKOTA TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 2:40 P.M. SUPPORTED BY WILLIAM E. EMERY. NINE IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Jerry Lee Curtis, Isabelle H. Welsh), MOTION CARRIED.

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO HAVE THE OJIBWA HOUSING AUTHORITY BOARD STOP THE PURCHASE OF THE BP GAS STATION, CAR WASH AND THE LAUNDROMAT PER THE TRIBAL ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING THE OJIBWA HOUSING AUTHORITY. SUPPORTED BY FRED DAKOTA. THREE IN FAVOR (Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), THREE OPPOSED (William E. Emery, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), THREE ABSTAINING (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Jennifer Misegan), TWO ABSENT (Jerry Lee Curtis, Isabelle H. Welsh), TIE VOTE – PRESIDENT SWARTZ VOTED OPPOSED, MOTION DEFEATED.

Jennifer Misegan stated her abstention: She feels a motion is not necessary to follow an ordinance.

Gary Loonsfoot, Sr. left at 2:48 p.m.

H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY FRED DAKOTA TO ADJOURN AT 2:50 P.M. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, William E. Emery, Jennifer Misegan, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Jerry Lee Curtis, Gary F. Loonsfoot, Sr., Isabelle H. Welsh), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Minton Administrative Specialist